The Five Senses

The Five Senses is one of the themes from the new Core Knowledge Language Arts Curriculum and it was a wonderful week learning about the sense of sight, smell, hearing, touch and taste.

For taste, students from early preschool to kindergarten tasted yummy apples! They tried red, yellow, and green apples this past week and talked about the parts of an apple, did “apple graphs,” and viewed a Scholastic video on how the apple seed blossoms into a fruit.

For the sense of sound, students listened to the sound of a fire truck, the fire alarm, as well as watched a fire safety video in light of the visit later this week by firefighters.

They used their hands to play with playdough, the macaroni table, and magnetic blocks to learn about the sense of touch.

To impart lessons on the senses of sight and smell, we took advantage of the unusually warm weather to go outside and watch butterflies, see the changing colors of leaves all around, and to scent the fragrance of flowers.

There are no comments so far

Leave a Comment

Don't worry. We will never use your email for spam.

Don't worry. We never use your email for spam.